The Albino Camel

I ordered a kids book written by a Brit living in Burkina Faso–“Sophie and the Albino Camel.”  I just started but am already hooked.  The story is about an English girl living in northern Burkina.  She gets swept up into an adventure.  I can’t wait to read it to my own white kids trying to find a way and discover who they are in a sandy sea of darker faces.  The book recognizes the challenges of this cross-cultural life, grabs their hand and pulls them out on the floor to dance.  I know my kids will see themselves in the story.  Heck, i see myself in the story.  And i know it will open their eyes to the adventure around them.  Thank you Stephen Davies.  I want to write stories like that for my kids.  I want to tell God’s story that well to my Jula friends and neighbors.  May they–we be drawn further into that big story together.

About freethestory

A Windchaser. Trying to live out my little part of the Big story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

